friday in barcelona: eixample, la pedrera, casa batlló, plaça de catalunya and la barceloneta (part I)

So, as you all know I spent the first weekend of June in Barcelona.

The reason for my trip was to meet up with friends whom I got to know while I was studying in Nijmegen in the Netherlands five (!) years ago. (You can find all my posts from that time in my category named ”Holland”) And therefore it was time for a proper fifth reunion!

Since I know my friends want to be able to read these posts I will do them in English. So, are you ready? Let’s go!
friday, barcelona
I arrived late on Thursday evening so by Friday morning I was more than ready to explore the city. With a group of 10 people not everybody wants to do the same thing. So while the others went to check out La Sagrada Familia, Maria and I set off towards the city.
friday, barcelona
I have been in Barcelona before and one of the things I really like with this little city is its tree lined streets and
friday, barcelona
all that beautiful architecture!
friday, barcelona
I mean, just look at it! Anyway, me and Maria walked through the quarters of Eixample, followed Passeig de Sant Joan for a bit until
friday, barcelona
we ended up here, close to Diagonal, outside Casa Mila or La Pedrera as it is also called. It is one of Gaudi’s most famoused works.
friday, barcelona
We followed Passeig de Gracia southwards and soon we saw another of Gaudi’s famoused buildings, Casa Battló. This one is easily my favorite. Those balconies and that roof which glimmers in any color available. Just wow!
friday, barcelona
After a while we found ourselves at Plaça de Catalunya where we grabbed a bench to rest our feet. We sat there for a while, just talking and looking for someone selling ice cream.
friday, barcelona
But we found none and just enjoyed the view and the weather instead.
friday, barcelona
Our goal for the day was to just walk around and get a feel of the city, and hopefully end up at the beach by afternoon, but by now it was lunch time and our stomachs wanted food. We strolled down through the older parts of Barcelona and just around the corner from Catedral de Barcelona we found a table in the shade.
friday, barcelona
When in Spain you just have to eat tapas. So that’s what we did. Among other things, I had patatas bravas, artichoke and falafel plus of course an Estrella. It was all so delicious! Especially the falafel which came with a really tasty yoghurt sauce with mint.
friday, barcelona
We just sat there for the longest time relaxing and enjoying the fact that we were on vacation.
friday, barcelona
Then we continued our walk with more purpose cause the rest of our friends had texted us that they were already at the beach!
friday, barcelona
So we made our way through the small alleys of Barri Gòtic and El Born. I am forever mesmerized by the fact that people actually live here. The balconies were overflowing with flowers and greens and I was in awe.
friday, barcelona
I saw these trees with light purple flowers everywhere in the city. I think they are beautiful but I still don’t know what they are called.
friday, barcelona
I hoped that we would pass another cathedral, Santa Maria del Mar, and I was so happy that we managed to do so! Cause it just pops out in between these tiny alleyways and all of a sudden the air feels lighter and there is the tiniest square filled with people and restaurants surrounding the cathedral.
friday, barcelona
And then, after some more walking we found ourselves at La Barceloneta. With probably the rest of all the tourists in Barcelona… But I didn’t mind.
friday, barcelona
It was a really lovely sight! So the rest of the afternoon were spent in bikinis with sand between our toes. And some of us, myself included, even went for a short swim in the Mediterranean. It was cold as ice and really lovely!

After a couple of hours we went back to our hotel and got prepared in a rush for our evening plans, but that’s a story for another post. Stay tuned!

Det här inlägget postades i äta bör man annars dör man, sommar, utflykter och äventyr. Bokmärk permalänken.

2 kommentarer till friday in barcelona: eixample, la pedrera, casa batlló, plaça de catalunya and la barceloneta (part I)

  1. Ping: friday evening in barcelona: paella in barri gòtic and cocktails in gràcia (part II) |

  2. Ping: saturday in barcelona: barri gòtic, el born, parc de la ciutadella and tapas (part IV) |

Kommentera

